Reflection

I recently spent a week in Hawaii for my honeymoon.  It was amazing and eye opening. I realized some really cool things.

1) I realized I actually really like my life.  

All the stuff that annoyed me at home also annoyed me in HI.  I don’t like rude people, thoughtless people, or people who are totally unaware of their surroundings.  I haven’t quite figured out what this mirrors in me.  But I’m working on it.

2) I realized the simple things make me the happiest.

The shops and manicured beaches were fun, but when we rented a car and found a beach with beach glass and shells, I was in heaven.  

3) It doesn’t matter where you are as long as you love who you are with, including you. 

My husband and I were discussing how different the trip would have been with out ex’s.  I had actually been there with my ex so I knew first hand how different it would be.  My first trip to HI, I of course saw the beauty, but not on the scale I saw it this trip.  

4) Money isn’t everything.  

I’ve been so focused on finding a job that pays more, than I’ve overlooked what my job offers.  Lots of freedom and security.  This means I can make money to pay my bills, but focus on what I want to be when I grow up.  And my coworkers… they will support me in my endeavors.  That’s rare.

So in short, a week in paradise living WAY above my normal means showed me that more isn’t better.  That what I have is amazing, and that I just need to focus on doing what I love, the rest will fall in line. 

Leave a Reply

