You are what you consume

Over the last few months I have been really working on cutting out doom and gloom podcast and you tubers. Not because I don’t want factual news, but because when I go out and about, reality is different from what they are saying.

Sure. Prices are high and not everything is perfect, but it never has been. Only in the last 10 or so years have we become increasingly inundated with constant news and opinion. We have people on Facebook reposting and Twitter telling us the news in 120 characters.

But if you get out and walk, and shop. People are craving kindness. So much so that all you have to do is smile and they light up.

So, I’m really going to curate what I consume. I’m going to stay aware of what’s going on, but I will be cutting out those who exaggerate or trim facts to fit the narrative that they profit from.

I’m going to avoid people who blame whole swaths of people for one commentators take.

I’m going to listen to more music and fewer podcasts.

But mostly, I’m going to take my extroverted dog on more walks. She helps attract smiles and happiness to strangers. And then those strangers become my friends. (Seriously, I’ve made 6 new friends just because we walk at the same time and Daisy is so cute)

Leave a comment